Sunday, December 17, 2006

The joys an despairs of DVR

'Tis the season. The season for holiday parties and missed hockey games. This past Monday was my team's holiday outing. Good times had by all, but it was also the night of the Penguins-Capitals game. Ovechkin vs. Crosby round 1, year 2. As a hockey fan in general, and a huge fan of both of these players, I was disappointed that I couldn't watch the game. But in this day and age of wonderful modern technology, I could DVR the game and watch it when I got home.
I came home about 3/4's the way through the game and my roommates and friends were watching it in the living room. So I walked past with my hands on my ears screaming "LA LA LA LA" until I made it to my bedroom. I locked myself upstairs until the game was over.
So I go downstairs and, like a little kid at Christmas, am overwhelmed with excitement. I start watching the game, joyfully fast forwarding through all of the commercials. Caps jump out to a 4-0 lead, the Pens miraculously come back (Crosby and Malkin could be like this generations Lemieux and Jagr... except Crosby and Malkin both have better work ethics).
Interesting thing I noted during the game- the US media seems to focus more on Ovechkin than Crosby. Obviously, he's a hero in Canada, but it seems that American sportswriters in general are turned off by Crosby;s perceived "whining", and enthralled with Ovechkin's passion for the game. Don't get me wrong, I personally prefer Ovechkin, but Crosby is a once in a lifetime talent, and a potentially hall of famer already. This kid needs to be watched as well.
So the game goes to OT, and eventually a shootout. I am giddily anticipating the first shooter and.... my DVR recording ends. The brawl in the middle of the game took so long to sort out that the recording, which was set for only 3 hours, ended right as the first shooter was lining up. I was ready to cry, scream and kick, but since it was midnight, I decided to just go to bed.
At least ESPN had some highlight from the shootout. However, you imply cannot get good enough coverage of hockey on an American network. Oh, TSN, how I need you.

No comments: